Introducing IFWG Publishing’s Children’s Book Catalog

IFWG Publishing is proud of its children’s line of publications. We view children’s taste in fiction as being the source of adult’s love of speculative fiction.

While our Australian/UK Imprint have a strong line of kid’s fiction, we have three titles that cover a wide spectrum of subjects and themes, and each are beautifully illustrated.

Without further ado, here are our children’s titles:

Constellation Station
by Gary Alexander Azerier (illustrated by Ioanny Dimov)
Constellation Station Front Cover 2014
Karl opened the book of maps. Inside, however, there were no maps. There seemed to be…a story!
It began: Through his room window, Karl could see the night was thick, but he could see pinpoints of gold and patches of orange light scattered along the horizon. Soon, thought Karl, he would reach Constellation Station. He had been planning this trip for as long as he could remember and now, finally, his dream would become realized…
Suitable for ages 8 to 12.

Continue reading

News: New Look Golden Spinner

Golden Spinner, written by Jennifer R Resetar, illustrated by John Powers, and with some contribution by R. A. Knowlton, is a special book for IFWG Publishing. It isn’t just a pre-teen children’s title. It is much more.

It is about standing up against school bullies.

It is about self-confidence in the face of a disability.

These important messages are presented through two children’s tales, richly illustrated. It also has wise words for parents of children who are bullied.

IFWG Publishing published this book on the strength of its messages.

IFWG has created a new cover for the title, which in their opinion best captures the spirit of its stories.

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000038_00053]This title can be found in all good print and ebook online stores. Ask your local store to stock it. Ask your local library. If you are a member of an anti-bullying group or disability support organisation, consider supplying it to your members.

Purchase this from Amazon

It can also be purchased through IFWG Publishing’s web site at a discount.

 

News: Christmas Gift – Blackthorns of the Forgotten Giveaway

To celebrate the festive season, IFWG Publishing is giving away the kindle format Blackthorns of the Forgotten to the public. From Christmas Day (US time) to 29 December 2014, visit the Amazon store and download the title for free.

Merry Christmas!

This is a title we are very proud of. A great paranormal fantasy set largely in Ireland a few decades ago. It explores love at the purest of levels, and breaks free from classic male/female relationship tales.

Blackthorns Final Revamped Front Cover

 

Ireland: leading toward, and crossing over the new Millenium. Gillean Faraday is a successful international musician. His self-made stardom has afforded him every comfort of the material world. But also the self-destructiveness of an artist who has all but sacrificed his soul for fame. His marriage and family are disintegrating.

It is during this period of chaos that Gillean develops a relationship with a supernatural being called Sully, who has chosen to act as Gillean’s guardian – Gillean’s angel. Gillean and Sully are polar opposites who just happen to have the extraordinary connection of soul mates. The powerful connection between Gillean and Sully becomes complicated when other beings from the hidden world interfere.

Good and Evil collide in the tangible form of these characters’ strengths, weaknesses and complexities.

Blackthornes Of The Forgotten is a powerful story of love in its purest form, set in an Ireland that delicately superimposes modernity with the traditions of the paranormal past.

Visit the Kindle Page from Christmas Day!

Newsletter December 2014

https://ifwgpublishingintl.files.wordpress.com/2014/01/ff87c-ifwg2blogo.png?w=339&h=265

Newsletter – Dec 2014

A Word From The Editor

Welcome to the festive season – I can honestly say that the year has just flashed by.

In the last newsletter I focused on what is in our 2015 catalog, so I will dwell on what is happening now.

Firstly, I want to talk about an indefinite ‘series’ that IFWG is running, and has run for a few years now. We call it the ‘IFWG Chap-eBook’ series, and it has two purposes (and consequently, constraints).

  • We want to showcase our authors in as many ways as possible, and one such mode is to provide them with the option of publishing a short work (typically less than 20k, often less than 10k). Sometimes it might be a novelette or small novella that is often hard to find an appropriate market, and on other occasions it might be a long short story, or a set of short stories. Sometimes these stories are set in the same world (and/or with the same characters), as the authors’ published novels with us. Either way, we are always delighted to publish these ‘virtual penny dreadfuls’, and offering them in ebook format only, and at very good prices.
  • Secondly, we are a small publisher and in some cases we cannot keep up with the demand of some of our authors. While only a token gesture, we see these chap-ebooks as a real opportunity to keep our authors active in IFWG’s catalogue.

As a result of the two purposes outlined above, we restrict our chap-ebook series to our current authors, and we are never open for submissions beyond our stable of writers.

A few weeks ago we published the 8th instalment of the chap-ebook series, a set of 6 haunting short stories by Biola Olatunde, our most distant writer – she lives in Nigeria. As is the case with her two novels, Numen Yeye and Blood Contract, Sunset Tales entertains readers with well-spun stories, and at the same time digs deep into Nigerian society and reveals the good and the ugly. It is always honest, and often tragic, and yet at there are also moments of mirth. What I particularly like about Biola’s stories is that her work is spun in the English idiom of her homeland. I would recommend this small collection to anyone who is interested in haunting tales, or would like an insight into modern Nigerian society. You can find Sunset Tales, and the other 7 chap-ebooks published so far, in our chap-ebook store.

I am over the moon with our newest title release, Buxacan Spicerunner, by Warren Goodwin – his debut novel, but not new to publishing short fiction. This publication has been long in the coming, and its sequel, Port Buxaca, will be released late in 2015 – I know that those who read the first book will want to get their hands on the second.

Buxacan Spicerunner has many endearing qualities, some of which are fairly unique. Warren’s knowledge of the the Age of Sail, and piracy in particular, is eloquently, and evocatively portrayed in this swashbuckling adventure, and yet he has chosen to set the story in a fictitious, fantasy world. This was a clever decision, as he was able to expand the presence of pirate society in a vast sea dotted with a myriad of islands and coastal ports, as well as various societies who resist the looting and pillaging. And yet, this is not a classical fantasy story – there are hints of sea monsters, but nothing by way of exotic races, magic, or the like. Power lies in cannon, cutlass and pistols, and the skills of sailing the tumultuous seas. The cover of this book is magical – perfectly capturing the spirit of the novel – I want to thank Jeffery Doherty for a sterling job, both in terms of the art as well as the cover design.

I would recommend to anyone who loves seafaring or pirate adventures, in the vein of Errol Flynn, Burt Lancaster, and Johnny Depp, to purchase Buxacan Spicerunner, and get lost in the Buxacan Sea.

I hope that you all have a joyous and safe holiday season and I look forward to giving you more exciting news in 2015.

Gerry Huntman
Managing Director IFWG Publishing
Continue reading

News: Buxacan Spicerunner trade paperback now available

We are very pleased with the trade paperback version of Buxacan Spicerunner, the debut novel by Warren Goodwin. It will be available in a few days in Amazon, and will spider out to all good online stores over coming weeks. In the meantime, support the author and publisher, and visit our sales page, and order it now!

BookCover6x9_Cream_410 Front cropped-3