Author: Kaaron Warren


Bram Stoker Nominee and Shirley Jackson Award winner Kaaron Warren has lived in Melbourne, Sydney, Canberra and Fiji. She’s sold many short stories, three novels (the multi-award-winning Slights, Walking the Tree and Mistification) and six short story collections. Through Splintered Walls, won a Canberra Critic’s Circle Award for Fiction, two Ditmar Awards, two Australian Shadows Awards and a Shirley Jackson Award. Her story “Air, Water and the Grove” appeared in Paula Guran’s Year’s Best Dark Fantasy and Horror. Her IFWG published novel The Grief Hole, won an Australian Shadow Award and an Aurealis Award. Warren’s award-winning fiction tackles the themes of obsession, murder, grief, despair, revenge, manipulation, death and sex.

IFWG Publishing Australia has published a large number of Kaaron’s work:


The Grief Hole (multi-award winner)

The Gate Theory (short fiction collection)

Tool Tales (with Ellen Datlow – chapbook of
micro fiction inspired by antique tools)

Slights (classic early Warren)

Mistification (classic Warren dark fantasy)

Walking the Tree (classic Warren dark fantasy)

Morace’s Story (chapbook, teenage novella,
companion to Walking the Tree)